Monthly Archives: September 2013

First Friday with Manayunk Calligraphy!

buddha

 

First Friday, October 4th, 6pm – 9pm

For the next First Friday in Manayunk, join us for an opening reception featuring Manayunk Calligraphy. GORGEOUS lettered pieces, all available for purchase during the month of October. (hint – get started on that holiday shopping!) Kimberly is planning on making some literary related prints, so be sure to pick them up before they disappear.

September Salon – Wondrous Women

flappers2

Thursday, September 26th, 7pm – 10pm

Join us for our next Salon!  This month we are featuring four wondrous women at the shop – Roz Warren, Suzan Jivan, Melissa Kenney, and Mattie Dimler.  So, mark your calendars and prepare to discover new talent and chat with kindred spirits during this artistic extravaganza!

Bios:  Roz Warren writes for the New York Times, the Humor Times and the Huffington Post, and for countless other venues from Girlfriendz to Good Housekeeping. She recently appeared on the “Today Show.” She’s also the editor of twenty humor collections, including Men Are From Detroit: Women are From Paris and Women‘s Glib. You can connect with Roz on Facebook.

Suzan Jivan – ” Jivan “, the Hindi word for ” life “, typifies my desire to promote life through poetry, photography, playwrighting and fiber art. “Looking In and Sipping: Collected Poems by Suzán Jiván published by Mobley Publishing is now available at The Spiral Bookcase.  Poetry videos can be seen on YouTube (search Suzan Jivan).

Melissa Kenney is a graduate of Edinboro University with a BFA in Drawing and Wood Furniture. Her work is inspired by narrative and draws imagery from experiences in her life and stories she’s read. Her artwork draws inspiration from classic fairy tales and presents their themes and symbolism in a graphic minimalist style using a paper cutout technique.  Her favorite fairy tale is Little Red Riding Hood.

Mattie Dimler is a poet, journalist, teacher, and singer/songwriter from Philadelphia currently living in East Falls.  Her work is folk inspired, drawing in one part from the the Beat Generation as balled up in the music and culture of the Grateful Dead, and in another from the roots and rhythms which led to the formation of hip hop.  She is a graduate of Sarah Lawrence College with an MFA in poetry and believes that at the intersection between poetry and music lies the true storyteller’s spirit.   Her mission in art is to do away with genres altogether and reach back to our natural human sensibilities in order to tie together language, landscape, and meaning.  Her spirit animal is the African Elephant.

What is the Spiral Salon?  It is a gathering place for authors, poets, artists, musicians, and all creative types.  We are lucky to live in a community that is home to so many talented and creative people.  Every month we seek out a variety of folks that want to share their work with you.  It is a casual affair – time to listen, time to question, time to interact, and time to reflect.  Time for you. Time for us.

If you are interested in participating in the Salon – as an author, poet, musician, artist, comedian, or actor – please contact us at spiralbookcase@gmail.com . 

 

Meet the Authors – Justin St. Germain & Kevin Grauke

son ofSaturday, Sept. 21st, 6pm – 8pm

We are very happy to welcome Justin St. Germain, author of Son of a Gun (Random House), and Kevin Grauke, Shadows of Men (Queens’ Ferry Press), in the shop for a discussion and book signing.

Justin will read from and discuss his new memoir – Song of a Gun. In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy, and Mary Karr, Son of a Gun is a brave and unforgettable memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also an unflinching account of a murder and its aftermath. Read the NPR review here.

shadowsofmen_coverJoining him, Kevin Grauke will be reading from his short story collection Shadows of Men. Read the Inquirer Review here.

Please join us for this unforgettable event.  Come early – and enjoy the day in Manayunk at the Fall STREAT Food Festival!

URBN Summer Market

urbn

We are incredibly happy to participate in this year’s URBN Summer Market, at the Urban Outfitters HO. The market is ever-changing, filled with makers, artists, shops, designers, purveyors of food, found objects, clothing and quality goods. In building 543 on campus located at 5000 South Broad Street in Philadelphia.

First Friday featuring Elizabeth Kirby-DuPont

my art work15

Friday, September 6th, 6pm – 9pm

For the next First Friday in Manayunk, join us for an opening reception featuring the colorful and kinetic art of Elizabeth Kirby-DuPont. Elizabeth’s art will be available for purchase in the shop during the month of September.

Bio: Elizabeth Kirby-DuPont was born in Pennsylvania and raised in South Jersey. After graduating High School, she studied illustration at The University of the Arts in Philadelphia PA. As a freelance designer, she has designed, greeting cards, invitations, sold numerous prints of her work and most recently illustrated a Children’s Book. She currently resides in New Jersey with her husband Dave and youngest son, her oldest son resides nearby. Elizabeth grew up with an art loving Mom, who was a Poet in her own right. Her Mother encouraged self-expression through art and always provided Elizabeth with paper for drawing. Elizabeth says, “I take all my life experiences and infused them into my art. My goal is simple, I paint what I think is beautiful and hope that it brings pleasure to those who view it.”